skip navigation
Colorado Hockey Hub

2017 - 2018 Arapahoe Warriors Recreational Program

AYHL Recreational Program

AYHL’s recreational program has 4 age divisions:  Squirt (10U), Peewee (12U), Bantam (14U) and Midget (16U/18U).  As part of the CRHL (Colorado Recreational Hockey League), AYHL plays associations from around Denver including Arvada, Colorado Jr. Eagles, Denver University, Greeley, Hyland Hills, Littleton, Northern Colorado and Summit. 

The mission of CRHL is to emphasize skill development with a recreational component.  The goal of CRHL is to encourage a FUN environment in a recreational skill development setting.  The CRHL is a tiered program to create like competition.  The three tiers are Experienced (Red), Intermediate (White) and Novice (Blue). 

Teams play a 6 game evaluation to determine and confirm tier placement.  Following the evaluations, teams are tiered as directed by the CRHL and the association hockey directors.

Each team will have one 1 hour, half-ice practice per week and 14-16 games per season with one guaranteed playoff game.  

Each team will also participate in the Mile High Meltdown over President's Day weekend (tournament fee is included in the league fee).

Game Format

Squirt/Peewee/Bantam and Midget - 3 minute warm-up, 1 minute between periods.  1st and 2nd periods are run-time 15 minute periods, 3rd period is 12 minute stop time.  Teams are allowed one 30-second timeout per game.

Mercy Rule - score differential of 6 or more goals, the time keeper will revert to a running clock in the 3rd period.  Stop-clock will be re-employed if the goal differential goes to 5 or less.  All coaches are required to utilize all appropriate means to prevent their team from running up the score on an opponent.

Curfew - All games have a 1 hour curfew, except playoffs and championship games.  When the remaining game time equals the time left to curfew, the clock shall be kept running.

Important Rec League Dates

Evaluations:  September 9th - 10th, 2017

Teams Selected:  September 11th - 12th, 2017

Practices Start:  September 18 - 22nd, 2017